Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Blanton Forest

Division of Forestry
Forest Health

The forests of Kentucky are a diverse and beautiful ecosystem, dominated by two main forest types: oak/hickory and oak/pine. Even though hardwood species dominate in the state, (including walnut, oak, maple, cherry, hickory and yellow-poplar), there are considerably large areas of natural and commercial pine forests across the state. Common pine species include Virginia, pitch, loblolly and eastern white pine.

The Kentucky Division of Forestry's forest health program focuses on identifying and monitoring for potential insect, disease, invasive and exotic plant problems that threaten our forestlands.

Emerald Ash Borer

One of the most recent threats to Kentucky's rural and urban forests is the Emerald Ash Borer (EAB). This insect was initially discovered in Kentucky in 2009. For more information about this insect, the threat it poses, the state's quarantine and what you can do to help, click the following link: Emerald Ash Borer in Kentucky. 

Click here for a copy of the 2017 EAB Treatment Guide.
 Hemlock Woolly Adelgid



Hemlock Woolly Adelgid 


Hemlock Woolly Adelgid (HWA) has now been found in 30 eastern and southeastern counties - see map above.  Click on the link above for more information about HWA. 


 Save Kentucky's Hemlocks

 Resources and Links: