Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Frankfort urban forest

Division of Forestry
Recognition Programs

Many cities across the Commonwealth have strong urban forestry programs, and many have been recognized for their commitment by being awarded the Tree City USA designation.

Over the years, the Kentucky Division of Forestry has been an active participant in the Tree City USA program, which recognizes communities that demonstrate a strong commitment to the management of their urban forests. It is sponsored by the National Arbor Day Foundation, in cooperation with the National Association of State Foresters. The Division of Forestry offers technical and educational assistance that enables communities to develop sustainable community forestry programs. The chart below shows the Kentucky communities that have been awarded Tree City USA status and the number of years they have been active in the program.

2016 Tree City USAs
City # of Years in Program City # of Years in Program
Anchorage 28 London 6
Ashland 22 Louisville Metro 17
​Audubon Park ​8 ​Lyndon 15
​Beaver Dam ​3 ​Madisonville ​22
Munfordville 9
Bowling Green 23 Owensboro 27
​Cadiz ​4 ​Paducah ​25
Carrollton 25 Park Hills 7
​Cold Spring ​15 Pewee Valley 22
​Covington ​13 ​Prestonsburg 15
​Danville ​10 ​Prospect ​9
Florence 25 Russellville 20
Fort Campbell 12 Shelbyville 17
Fort Knox 24 Southgate 12
Fort Thomas 26 St. Regis Park 2
Frankfort 20 Watterson Park 14
Green Spring 11 Winchester 20
​Harrodsburg ​5
Henderson 22
​Kingsley ​15
Lexington Fayette Urban County Government 29

For information about how your city can become a Tree City USA contact Sarah Gracey at 502-782-7161.

Tree Campus USA Program

The Tree Campus USA® program helps colleges and universities around the country establish and sustain healthy community forests. Kentucky has 11 colleges/universities (as of 2016) that are currently enrolled into this program:

Campus ​# of Years
Bellarmine University ​3
Bluegrass Community and Technical College ​3
​Morehead State University ​3
​University of Kentucky ​6
​Eastern Kentucky University ​6
Western Kentucky University ​7
Centre College ​7
University of Louisville 7
Berea College ​8
Northern Kentucky University ​9
​Ashland Community and Technical College ​2

For information about the Tree Campus USA® Program, visit the Arbor Day Foundation's website at

Tree Line USA Program 

Tree Line USA recognizes best practices in utility arboriculture. Kentucky has two utilities that enrolled in the program for 2016:

Utility ​# of Years
Bowling Green Municipal Utilities ​10
​Owen Electric Coop ​8
​Blue Grass Energy ​3
For information about the Tree Line USA Program, visit the Arbor Day Foundation's website at