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Fall Forest Fire Hazard Season Now Underway 
Seasonal Restrictions On Outdoor Burning Are Back In Effect 

 
Frankfort, Ky. (September 30, 2016) – The Kentucky Division of Forestry (KDF) is once 

again preparing for an active wildfire season. Each year, there is nearly 1, 500 wildfires in the 

state of Kentucky based on the 10-year average. 

Wildfires in Kentucky threaten and cause damage to homes, private property, trees and 

landscapes. More importantly, lives are placed at risk. Not only the lives of people where the 

wildfires occur but the lives of the firefighters as well.  What most people don’t know is the 

majority of these fires are preventable. Most of Kentucky’s wildfires are the result of arson and 

careless open-burning (burning of trash, debris and brush).  Both of these causes are human 

activity and not nature.  If people start wildfires, people can prevent them. 

One law designed to prevent wildfires is the restriction of open burning within 150 feet of 

any woodland or brushland between the daylight hours of 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. during the Fall and 

Spring Forest Fire Hazard Seasons which run from October 1 to December 15 and from 

February 15 to April 30 respectively.  

Division Director Bill Steele says the most widely available fuel for fires in Kentucky is 

hardwood leaf litter.  "Unlike western fires that burn on the ground and in the canopy, 

Kentucky’s fires usually stay on the forest floor and burn only what is already down,” Steele 

said. “Beginning in October, fresh new dead leaf litter begins to fall in the forest.”   

During the Oct – Dec fire hazard season, Kentucky typically sees lower relative humidity 

(RH) numbers than in summer and winds become erratic due to the coming seasonal change 

(when RH numbers get below 25%, very bad fires can occur).   



By restricting burning until after 6 p.m. during the fall and spring, the law is having 

people wait until the humidity is higher and winds are lower making a fire outdoors more 

manageable and less likely to escape.  People need to remember that they must always take 

proper precautions to not have a fire escape and as always arson is never acceptable.  In fact it 

is a felony.   

Residents should call the Division of Air Quality at 1-502-782-6592 to learn about other 

specific regulations before burning anything. 
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