Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Energy and Environment Cabinet

Wooded sunrise

Division of Forestry
Kentucky's State Forests

Kentucky Ridge State Forest signThe division owns and manages 10 state forests - Big Rivers, Green River, Kentenia, Kentucky Ridge, Knobs, Marion County, Marrowbone, PennyrileRolleigh Peterson and Tygarts with a combined total of 47,677 acres.

Click to see a map of where each state forest is located.

The state forest properties are managed using the ecosystem management approach to ensure biological diversity and sustainable use.  They are working forests and educational demonstration areas exist in each.

Recent additions to the state forestry property have been provided Kentucky Heritage Land Conservation Fund imageby the Kentucky Heritage Land Conservation Fund. Revenue from the fund comes from a percentage of the state's portion of the unmined minerals tax, environmental penalties and state nature license plate sales. The division continues to seek new properties to add to the state forest program.

State forests are open to the public for hiking, wildlife viewing, hunting, fishing (if available) and other activities. Horseback riding is allowable on all state forests with the exception of Big Rivers, Knobs, Marrowbone and Rolleigh Peterson.  Off-road vehicle use, including ATVs, is prohibited on all state forest land.

Please visit each state forest's Web page for additional information.