The Kentucky Master Logger Program is an education program that teaches logging methods that benefit both industry and the forest. The program was developed following the passage of the Kentucky Forest Conservation Act (KFCA), which regulates all commercial loggers and requires the use o
f best management practices (BMPs) to help protect water quality.
The specifics of the statute are written in KRS 149.330 - 149.355
and the highlights of the act include the following:
- A Kentucky Master Logger (KML) must be on-site and in charge of every commercial logging operation (excluding horse loggers).
- Kentucky's best management practices must be used on every commercial logging operation (including horse loggers).
- The Kentucky Division of Forestry is the primary agency responsible for inspecting logging operations and enforcing compliance with the KML program and BMP requirements.
- Loggers must complete the three-day KML program in order to receive their KML designation card. They must also complete six hours of continuing education courses every three years. Those failing to fulfill the continuing education requirements will lose their master logger status.
The Division of Forestry, along with the University of Kentucky Department of Forestry
and the Kentucky Forest Industries Association
, provides the leadership, direction and instruction for the KML training program. The training includes discussion and demonstration of best management practices (BMPs) for logging, forest ecology, chainsaw safety, personal protective equipment and directional felling techniques. The cost for attending a three-day KML program is $85. Please visit the Kentucky Master Logger
Web site for a complete list of upcoming classes and a KML three-day program registration form
. Continuing Education Credits:
Continuing Education Credits are required for loggers who want to m
aintain their designation as a Kentucky master logger. These loggers will need to complete six hours of continuing education
over a three-year period following the issuance of their designation card. Kentucky recognizes equivalent training from other states.Out-of-State Loggers and Reciprocity Application:
Kentucky law requires that a Kentucky Master Logger be on-site and in charge of commercial logging operations in Kentucky. If you have graduated from a logger education program in another state you may be eligible to apply for Kentucky Master Logger status. Kentucky currently has reciprocity agreements with Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. Logger/operators who have completed equivalent training need to complete and submit a reciprocity application
, a $50 check and proof of his/her attendance or graduation from the appropriate logger education course to the address noted on the application. For more information about reciprocity agreements, please contact the division's harvesting compliance staff at 502-564-4496 or e-mail Larry Lowe
Temporary Master Logger Designation:
A ‘Temporary Master Logger’ card allows an applicant the ability to work while waiting to attend a three-day program that is to be held within the four month temporary period. To apply for this card, please read and complete the Temporary Kentucky Master Logger Form (KML-7). Please click temporary master logger for specific information on how to obtain this designation.
For more information about the KML training program or to request a KML information packet, please contact Mark Schuster, the KML program coordinator.
Publications and Information:
Numerous publications are provided by the division to further explain the requirements of KFCA, the KML program and to educate landowners and loggers about using BMPs to protect water quality during timber harvesting. Please link to Forestry Publications to view or download these documents.